The Whitehorse Rapids power development, which has been in service since November 1958, supplies the power for the Department of National Defence at Whitehorse, most of the power for the city of Whitehorse, and the power for heating systems of the Department of National Health and Welfare Hospital and two hostels operated by the Department of Citizenship and Immigration.

The Snare River hydro developments supply power to the mines in the Yellowknife area and, with the Bluefish hydro-electric plant of the Consolidated Mining and Smelting Company of Canada Limited, supply the town of Yellowknife. The original Snare Rapids plant has been in operation since September 1948 and the Snare Falls plant, situated on the same river about 10 miles downstream from the original plant and remotely controlled from Snare Rapids, was placed in service in November 1960.

The Mayo River plant, completed in November 1952, supplies power to mining properties in the Elsa and Keno areas and to the Mayo Landing and Keno City communities.

The diesel-electric plants supply the needs of Federal Government departments and general residents of the communities in which they are located. In addition to these plants the Commission operates a power and heating plant at the Fort McPherson residential school for the Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources, and the municipal water system and central heating plant supplying the hostel and school premises at Fort McPherson, N.W.T. Details of construction completed or under way in the Territories during 1960 are outlined at p. 582.